My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

Archive for January 30, 2009

One-Word Weekend Meme

Thanks for this, Vesper. There are some numbers missing; not sure what that’s all about but I’ll roll with it!

USE ONLY ONE WORD. It’s not as easy as you might think. Copy and change the answers to suit you and pass it on.

1. Where is your cell phone? Around
2. Your significant other? Joy
3. Your hair? Curly
4. Your mother? Supportive
5. Your father? Wasted
6. Your favorite thing? Bliss
7. Your dream last night? Static
8. Your favorite drink? Nectar
9. Your dream/goal? Moon
10. What room you are in? Office
11. Your hobby? Daydreaming
12. Your fear? Absence
13. Where do you want to be in 7 years? Set
14. Where were you last night? Class
16. Rockets? Houston!
17. Wish list item? Shoes
18. Where you grew up? Imagination
19. Last thing you did? Blog
20. What are you wearing? Navy
21. Your TV? Netflix
22. Your medium? Bubbles
23. Friends? Lacking
24. Your life? Transitioning
25. Your mood? Cautious
26. Missing some one? Category
27. Car? Unnecessary
28. Something you’re not wearing? Contacts
29. Your favorite store [designer]? Research
30. Your favorite color? All
33. When is the last time you laughed? Earlier
34. Last time you cried? Recently
35. Who will resend this? Subscribers
36. One place that I go to over and over? Apprehension
37. One person who emails me regularly? Cousin
38. Favorite place to eat? Couch
39. Why you participated in this survey? Twiddling
40. What are you doing tonight? Absorbing

I Love the 90s Friday: En Vogue

En Vogue set the bar really high for girl groups. Each member sang beautifully and they were all glamoured up in their videos. I still love all the songs (and videos!) featured here today.

Hold On

Here we have a video that is 90s to its core. Raw emotion, random shirtless dudes dancing and tattered rags wearing men voguing, singers dancing funky, red lipstick, teased hair, camera zoom-ins for no reason, etc. This song didn’t feature Dawn as much as the later ones did; and I liked hearing the other singers. Love (and lol at) the 90s dance choreography for: Don’t waste your time, fighting lies…fight that thought, of despair.

Don’t Let Go

Here is a song that you should see me sing in my car (actually, you probably shouldn’t.) A mess. A total mess. I can only imagine the raw emotion on my face as I switch lanes on the freeway with this song on. I thought they all looked pretty in this video. I actually don’t remember the movie version of the video (from Set It Off) but anything is better than the Mekhi Phifer version.

My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It)

Another song you should never, ever see me sing. ESPECIALLY the talking parts. “I give to the needy…and not the greedy! Mm-hmm that’s right! Cause you see baby…when you LOCKIN, ya LOSIN!….AND I’M OUT THE DOOR!” Also: “And now it’s time for a breakdown. Never gonna get, never gonna get it (times 4) WOO-WOO-WOO-WOOOOO!“…Okay, I’m done. The video is chock full of sparkles, curly-fry wigs, full bodysuits, and zesty men dancing and doing cheerleader jumps. The video kind of freaked me out for some reason. When the woman slaps down the man at the 2:34 (I think) mark, I remember feeling like I witnessed a murder or something…I don’t know, that part always messed with me.

Giving Him Something He Can Feel
Giving Him Something He Can Feel By En Vogue

This song was a cover, but Dawn and’nem did it so beautifully. Of course the video was glamour times 100. The slinky red dresses, the swoop hair, the male audience. Great visuals (the red dresses against the blue curtains).

I heard word on the street is that they’re doing a reunion, but who isn’t? Call me when their record is available to preview on Itunes. Until then, I will refer to the 90s, thanks. Leave your favorite En Vogue songs/memories in the comments!

The Sky Is Crazy

Here are some pictures I have taken with my cell-phone camera. I’m going to put them on the sidebar as well. As I may have mentioned before, nature fascinates me (especially the sky and the moon).
1. A rainbow after a thunderstorm from August 2007 driving through College Station, TX.
2. Sunrise in Houston from October 2007 while driving to work.
3. Dusk while driving on a freeway in Houston.



Today’s Colors: Lavender, Mauve, Gray

These are actually yesterday’s colors, but if you won’t tell I won’t tell. Mmkay?
Silver gypsyish earrings with pink and lavender beads
Lavender sweater, mauve camisole
Gray pants

Lavender, Mauve, Gray
Lavender, Mauve, Gray – by Bohemian Bookworm on Polyvore.com