My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

Archive for January 15, 2009

Octopus/Squid

I have a fascination with the animal kingdom, and particularly those who dwell down below in the great blue beyond. One strange creature that I am obsessed with is the octopus (and to a lesser extent, the squid). They are just so weird and mysterious. I have always believed that there is so much we don’t know about ocean life and it’s clues to the evolution of organisms. There have been winged and finned animals found who show traces of having had feet at one time (and footed/hoofed animals showing signs of fins/wings). Many creatures have straight up evolved right the hell up out the ocean, so it’s clearly a hard-knock life down there.

Anyhoo, the fact that the octopus gets all dramatic and cunty when something/someone bothers it and shoots out ink to make itself disappear and getaway is just marvelous to me. Also, just look at them! They look like some sort of marine alien-pod/hippo/spider hybrid. If I could see one in real life, that would be wonderful. I don’t mean on a plate in a restaurant, either. I mean in the ocean (or a very nice/spacious aquarium, even).

Another clue that we just don’t know much about ocean life: Giant squid keep getting discovered.

Look at this mother-loving beast. If he/she could, best believe he/she would eat you and everyone you care about.

This lends credence to my theory that there is a supreme, all-powerful, possibly vengeful octopus overlord down below in the depths.

This depiction may not be accurate.