My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

Archive for March 13, 2009

I Love the 90s Friday: Immature

My husband is going to side-eye me so hard for this, but I DON’T CARE! I know I am not the only one who was jamming Immature as a pre-teenybopper…sheeit I know there were grown ass women jamming to them, DON’T HATE! Of course looking back now at Batman, Romeo, and LDB (lol, there was never any love for LDB)…and their hair…and that high, soft voice…and those clothes…I just can’t. Journey back with me, won’t you?

Never Lie

This was their debut single. Jesus H. Christ, where do I begin? The ocean, the hair sleekly pulled back into buns, the eye-patch, the silver jewelry, the hoop earrings, the Different World sunglasses, and where the hell are their parents? Does this just happen in everyday life where 12 year old boys congregate at the beach to share some raw emotion over a girl? Get you some of that zest at the 1:15 mark…so dead at the serious looks they are giving…Of course we can’t forget the cuntiest part of the song toward the 3:40 mark: “Lie-ee-i-ee-i, lie-ee-i-ee-i…excuse me while I go resuscitate my soul.

Feel The Funk

Sofa king destroyed at Batman’s “Rihanna” bob and Romeo’s “trip to Cancun” micro-braids. Oh, 90s. So much was allowed back then. I’m not gonna sit here and pretend I didn’t use to groove to this though.

Please Don’t Go

Um, this video was kind of heavy for pre-teens…my little sensitive 11-year old ass used to cry when I watched it…this has to be a top contender for the Raw Emotion of the 90s award. I read a long time ago that the song was written for Marques Houston’s mother who died of cancer. I imagine that was a bit awkward to translate this into a love story for the video. There were bedside chats (again, who’s parents allowed this shit?), graphic pre-teen makeout sessions, realization of death (she keeps holding her stomach but the viewers never know why she died…ultimate crazy gas?), tearing shirts off to reveal teenage pecs in the rain, cemetaries and tombstones, dressed in all black…I think this video actually traumatized me, like watching Bambi’s mother get gunned down in the Disney movie.

We Got It

Aw, what happened to the innocent, fun songs? Can’t come out with anything like this now and expect to sell…one thing about Immature is they never tried to sex things up (except when they later became IMX, but I refuse to acknowledge that tragedy any further).