My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

Archive for March 2, 2009

Today’s Colors: Red, Navy, Black


Inspiration for the palette (palate?): Red scarf with blue/black leopard print. Please ignore my thirsty hair. I was supposed to wash it yesterday but I had to go to a gathering.

Red necklace

Navy sweater, black pants, red socks, black flats. Please disregard my radioactive-looking hand.

red, black, navy
red, black, navy – by Bohemian Bookworm on Polyvore.com

Suggest A Song Monday-Gills and Tails

I am beginning a new feature on this here blog; Suggest A Song Monday. I suggest a song that I love and that I think you would love. You listen to it. Tell me what you think in the comments. Then, you also recommend one song to me and I will listen to it and tell you what I think. I think this is a wonderful way for us to spread our musical horizons.

First up is Gills and Tails by Amel Larrieux. This song is one of those universal songs that I honestly cannot imagine anyone disliking. The lyrics (below) deal with being in a world you thought would be one way but it turned out very differently. You feel trapped, imprisoned, and you want out. The music and the way she uses her voice almost as an instrument are intoxicating. I love the breakdown at the end where it sounds like she’s gasping for air but in this beautiful way…the song has a distorted mermaid feel but also feels grounded on land. So give it a spin, no matter what genre(s) you prefer. This is one of my favorite all-time songs. I hope you will participate!

Gills And Tails – Amel Larrieux

I looked at my reflection in the water/Thought what an unlikely pair/Closed my eyes, held my breath, plummeted down, down, down/And anchored myself there/(Bridge) Can’t tell how long I’ve been…in the company of gills and tails/I think I feel my skin…growing scales/(Chorus) Can I come up for air? Can I come up? Can I come up? (Repeat 3 times)/I’m gettin’ eaten up down here/I’m just not built like that/The big fish have a monopoly/The little fish get buried in the sand/(Bridge) This sea world I’m in…sucks your life out, leaves you comatose/Take back your salt and fins…send me a lifeboat/Chorus/I look up with longing at the surface/Hypnotized by the way the sunlight seems to ride each ripple/And they do a dance/Every ray becomes a beckoning hand/I miss the sweetness of oxygen/I mistook this for the promised land