My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

Black and Infertile

I thought about shutting this blog down and just creating an infertility blog, since there are certain things in the blogosphere missing that I think I can contribute to. But fuck it, I’ll do everything here.

Monday, we went to our first RE (reproductive endocrinologist) appointment. Based on our history, health, age, etc. the doctor seemed very optimistic that we can get this pregnancy thang crackin’. She wants me to do Clomid and IUI (intrauterine insemination). IUI is NOT IVF. It is much less invasive. I realize I have readers who have no idea what goes on in the world of fertility treatments besides IVF (and I hope you never have to) so if you ever have any questions on distinctions, etc. feel free to leave them in the comments. Or e-mail me, what-evs.

Clomid is a fertility drug that, in women who have ovulation trouble (which I don’t) induces ovulation or more normal ovulation. In women who have normal ovulation (which I have), Clomid helps produce better, stronger, and sometimes MULTIPLE (girl, what?) eggs for ovulation. That will be combined with the IUI which is a simple procedure where a sperm sample is provided, “washed” by the doctor’s office, and inserted directly into the uterus. This is good because you usually have more sperm in the target zone, whereas normally, many sperm die off in the Great Vagina Everglades journey. I read one comment that described it as giving the swimmers a first class flight directly to Uterus-land instead of having to wait in long lines going through customs, security lines, etc.

This shit is expensive though. Well, the Clomid is cheap but the IUI is not covered by my god-forsaken insurance so it’s all out-of-pocket fun. Please baby jesus let this work the first time because I have no idea how we’re going to afford multiple tries.

The RE wants to try this protocol for 4 months and if it’s unsuccessful we move on to fertility INJECTIONS (stronger drugs) and IUI, no more Clomid. Which is even more expensive. Please lawd. Just help a sister out.

So they gave me a trans-vaginal ultrasound (SO FUN!!!! ESPECIALLY ON YOUR PERIOD!!!!!!) to see if I had any cysts on my ovaries, because you can’t start Clomid if you have cysts. Clomid makes cysts bigger, nastier, and just fucks shit up. So of course I had a cyst on my left side. So now, we try naturally for a free baby this cycle and if it is unsuccessful (and why wouldn’t it be after so many cycles?) then I go back at the beginning of next cycle for another ultrasound to see if the cyst is gone. If it is gone, then it’s party time.

The RE said everyone she has worked with in our age group has successfully gotten pregnant. I forgot to ask if that was with or without the $20,000 IVF though. :-/ Really hoping we don’t get to that point.

Anyhoo, I am still fairly optimistic and I feel excited about the IUI. I am going to try to pull out all the stops this cycle though so maybe we don’t have to even go to the next step. But I am prepared.

Comments on: "Black and Infertile" (7)

  1. “the Great Vagina Everglades” is where I left this world and floated off to a place less ratchet than this…

    (good luck with the FREE cycle!!)

  2. I love the comment about the first class ticket sans customs long waiting lines, etc.
    I’ll be rooting for you two and waiting for the mincorn.

    good Luck guys

  3. Ah damn it, you are not infertile. Just fertile-ly… fertility.. fertilell- EFF IT- challenged. Free baby, whoo!!!! Good luck, honey!

  4. I have friends who go pregnant with IUI for their first child. Unfortunately, they had to do IVF for the second. But you are much younger than they were. I pray this works.

  5. I’m so rooting for you guys! Rooting and praying. I really feel like 2012 is your year!

  6. CantTakeIt said:

    I’ve got my pompoms and chants ready on this side! My toes are crossed so I can type, but after I finish I’ll make sure to cross my fingers! I think my cousin went for the IUI, and that worked after several months, so let’s hear it for success!

    Minicorn…..minicorn….minicorn….

  7. Thank you all 🙂 Love you ladies.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

