My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

I Write Like

There is an app going around now called “I Write Like” where you paste a few paragraphs of your original words and the app tells you what famous author you write like. This was too good to pass up so I tried it and:

I write like
Margaret Atwood

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I’m not really familiar with her work but according to her Wikipedia page she has been described as “a scintillating wordsmith” and “an expert literary critic” so I’m all like AIIIIGGGHHHT! She’s a Canadian author, poet, critic, etc. She has described some of her work as Social Science Fiction. I am intrigued. I shall check her out at the library. Her book The Handmaid’s Tale won the first Arthur C. Clarke Best Science Fiction Novel in the UK so I may start with that one.

Go here to find out who you write like!

Comments on: "I Write Like" (9)

  1. I am not all that enthused by my outcome… not yet anyway, have some more research to do on my author

  2. I got William Gibson. Wiki tells me “American-Canadian writer who has been called the “noir prophet” of the cyberpunk subgenre of science fiction.”

    COOL.

  3. I got Vladimir Nabakov, which is pretty awesome. The second piece I put in there said Rudyard Kipling, which is even better. My ego was at an all time high…..then I just typed some nonsense like “Chocolate is my favorite drink lalallalala” and it said I wrote like James Fenimore Cooper, the guy who wrote Last of the Mohicans. Not sayin’ the app is B.S., but I refuse to believe that Cooper thought chocolate was a drink. THEY DIDN’T EVEN HAVE OVALTINE IN THE 1800’s!!!!!

    True story.

  4. i write like dan brown. thriller novelist most popular for his ever-famous ‘da vinci code’

    OWWW

  5. I write like Stephen King o.O lmao

  6. I got Dan Brown for one piece of fiction and James Joyce for another piece (they are actually parts of chapters for the same novel….one day, one day). For an essay/blog entry, I got David Foster Wallace….that site is addictive!

  7. I would have said hello on Embellish.Meant but I figured I would check out your blog.

    So here I am. Hello. I’m just browsing your posts and gems but I’m now a follower.

    See you around and I will be finding out who I write like in a minute.

  8. “Scintillating”. I likey. This is really interesting.

  9. KM: I commented on your blog about your first ‘I Write Like’

    Alicia: BAWSE

    Sandman: Maybe Cooper had some secret unpublished work that you don’t know about O_O

    kit: bad. ass.

    Ms. K: O_O that’s pretty awesome because I love him! Girl…whatchu been writing about? lol

    Moni: Cool; keep working on it! Now is the best time to put your work out there with all the online options. Also, your blog is nice! Thanks for visiting me 🙂

    MZ: K!

    CO: I know right? Scccciinnnnntillating! lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

