My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

I’m Beaming

Suggest-A-Song Friday, yaasss! Listen to the song I suggested and drop your thoughts about it (good or bad) in the comment section along with your own song suggestion (any genre). If you really wanna get crunk community-style, listen to the songs the other commenters suggest as well. Let’s get to it.

Today we have I’m Beaming by Lupe Fiasco. I really haven’t been a real Lupe Fiasco fanatic when his past 2 albums and other mixtape music came out. I thought he was original, had some good lyrics, some nice beats, but just not my cup of tea. But his more recent stuff has been jamming. We have his free mixtapes and the latest one is super jamming and this latest single from his new album Lasers is something I unabashedly WMP to. The beat is just AWESOME, Pharrell/Neptunes did it big.

Today, nobody cares/But tomorrow they will, they will/Today, nobody cares/But, oh, tomorrow they will, they will//(Chorus) They said my future was dark/You see me now?/Just look around/I’m beamin’/They used to talk/When I wasn’t around/You see me now/I’m beamin’//I get my energy from my inner G/I be in outer space, but I got inner peace/So tell my enemies that they can’t injure me/I know that irritates, you have my sympathies/Well, you should protest, yeah, you should picket me/I’m on a losing strike, I’m on a winning streak/I’m out in left field, I’m speaking mentally/But that’s a better places than where the benches be/I’m feelin’ really good, me and different beat/Me and my different drummer, he play the timpanis/See, that’s what got me here, you hearin’ me/Me on my black man in the future shit, call me Billy Dee/See, I’m just forward-looking, that’s how I really see/See, while you Valentimes, I’m thinking Christmas trees/And that’s how this would be, even at Mickey D’s/Semicolon, close parentheses//Chorus//Do you remember me, the guy from verse one?/Failure’s my last name, Never’s my first one/You see I hood a lot, and yeah I nerd some/Hood’s where the heart is, nerd’s where the words from/Don’t represent either, because I merged them/It’s kids who wanna leave, and I encourage them/Go out and see the world, never return from/Yeah, you don’t come back, unless you learn some/And baby girl, what does it matter where your purse from?/Your hurr done, your nails did, your ass fat, but you’re dumb/Mix Melyssa Ford with Maya Angelou/Become a top model and Sojourner too/I try to follow this, what Muhammad do/It’s such a old soul inside the sonic youth/Swear I’m Ferrari’d up, and I’m conscious, too/I don’t prophesize: I promise you//Chorus//Yeah, it’s me again, the guy from verse two/Well, this the last one, it’s almost curfew/It’s almost night out, so turn your lights on/Where all my 760s, witcha brights on?/Yeah, they are the ones to keep your eyes on/Like how we used to do, to keep the house warm/Now those the type of eyes, I not cry from/You see the tears of fire run out my cryin’ songs/Now the world’s shoulders is what we cryin’ on/The world’s fast lane is what I’m drivin’ on/What am I driving at? I’m tryna drive it home/I’m in the driver’s seat, but you can ride along/‘Cause never cyclops, it’s never I alone/I’m tellin’ your story wherever I perform/Now if they lookin’ for me, tell ‘em I’ve gone/Out in the bright lights, right where I belong//Chorus//

Comments on: "I’m Beaming" (7)

  1. i’m a long time stan of this young man and i LOOOOOVE this song. since you’re suggesting rap i’d like u to youtube a song by consequence called “disperse”. HOTTTTTTTT beat. Consequence used to ghostwrite for Kanye. Ye kinda took this dudes whole style and perfected it….

    thats how it usually goes tho. the writers and creators never get the credit or recognition they deserve.

  2. Ooh I like! The beat is straight chillax. Like background Spades ass-whoopin music. I like his style; it’s cute! I did NOT know Kanye had a ghostwriter though I shouldn’t be surprised. Was it his first album? Iono though Consequence comes off as more likeable than Kanye so Kanye took his style and cunted it up?

  3. cunted it up to the nth power because nobody can cunt it quite like Ye

  4. his album is amazing. i dont claim much hip hop but i fux with consequence.

    this is with any artist tho. kelis has been on exclusivity for YEARS in terms of style and music….but beyonce, gaga, rihanna and others get the credit for making certain styles mainstream and popular. thats why i cherish certain artists that dont get super big and ahead of themselves.

  5. Okay, this is unrelated to your post but I just spent 20 minutes on beyonceitis and snacks and shit and I’m CRYING I’m laughing so hard!! Oh Jeeeezus!!

    Love it so much!

    And thanks for coming to see me and being cool (and failing – I laughed so hard when I read your comment) about the…you know….the thing….that’s happening. You know.

    Luv you gurl!

  6. I bounced a lot to this, so I’m not gonna even front like I didnt

    Oldie But goodie with your fave and Aceyalone still doing everything

    • *SCREAMS* QQ, I have never heard this song before! I really like it, download times! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

