My existence is a life-long treasure hunt.

INTJ

If you haven’t ever taken a personality test, you can take it here. I am a ‘Rational Mastermind’.  INTJ= Introvert, Intuition, Thinking, Judgment. I excerpted the parts that stuck out to me or were especially true; the italics are my own comments:

All Rationals are good at planning operations, but Masterminds are head and shoulders above all the rest in contingency planning. Complex operations involve many steps or stages, one following another in a necessary progression, and Masterminds are naturally able to grasp how each one leads to the next, and to prepare alternatives for difficulties that are likely to arise any step of the way. Trying to anticipate every contingency, Masterminds never set off on their current project without a Plan A firmly in mind, but they are always prepared to switch to Plan B or C or D if need be (This is so true. I almost neurotically plan and map out the way things will andan go in my mind and have several “branches” of alternatives).

Masterminds are rare, comprising no more than, say, one percent of the population, and they are rarely encountered outside their office, factory, school, or laboratory. Although they are highly capable leaders, Masterminds are not at all eager to take command, preferring to stay in the background until others demonstrate their inability to lead (TRUTH. I hate being the “group leader” because I don’t like dealing with certain personalities, but I also hate inefficiency. It makes me itch inside.). Once they take charge, however, they are thoroughgoing pragmatists. Masterminds are certain that efficiency is indispensable in a well-run organization, and if they encounter inefficiency-any waste of human and material resources-they are quick to realign operations and reassign personnel. Masterminds do not feel bound by established rules and procedures, and traditional authority does not impress them, nor do slogans or catchwords (this explains a lot of my stress at my current job). Only ideas that make sense to them are adopted; those that don’t, aren’t, no matter who thought of them (Yes, yes, YES. I have given so many side-eyes and Kanye shrugs to my assistant and supervisor over non-sensical rules and ideas.). Remember, their aim is always maximum efficiency.

In their careers, Masterminds usually rise to positions of responsibility, for they work long and hard and are dedicated in their pursuit of goals, sparing neither their own time and effort nor that of their colleagues and employees. Problem-solving is highly stimulating to Masterminds, who love responding to tangled systems that require careful sorting out. Ordinarily, they verbalize the positive and avoid comments of a negative nature; they are more interested in moving an organization forward than dwelling on mistakes of the past (Generally, this is pretty true. However I get irritated/impatient reeeeally quickly so problem-solving often turns into LAWD get me through the day).

Masterminds tend to be much more definite and self-confident than other Rationals, having usually developed a very strong will. Decisions come easily to them; in fact, they can hardly rest until they have things settled and decided (This is true, I cannot sleep, eat, or think about anything else for too long if something is up in the air). But before they decide anything, they must do the research (YAS, I STAY looking up facts and examples for whatever arbitrary point I need to make or decision). Masterminds are highly theoretical, but they insist on looking at all available data before they embrace an idea, and they are suspicious of any statement that is based on shoddy research, or that is not checked against reality (Yes again).

They are good at solving problems and like to work on tough intellectual puzzles. They are often led into technical positions such as scientific researcher, design engineer, environmental planner. The developing field of genetics benefits from their intensity as does the field of medicine (I have considered getting a Masters in Genetic Counseling more than a few times). In education they are most often found at the college and university level (um, hello?). In the professions, they may be a lawyer (have also considered this a few times), a business analyst (would love to be an auditor), or strategic planner. Some have a strong artistic/creative bent and may become an artist, inventor, or designer (this was the path I was on as a child. I didn’t further my painting/drawing, but now have a strong urge to do printmaking and jewelry making). Whatever they do, they do it with intensity.

The Mastermind sees situations from their own unique perspective and they enjoy finding new solutions to complex problems. They are driven to implement their ideas whether or not others can see their vision for improvement. If they are given no support, they dig in their heels and work all the harder to achieve their vision (this is all so true. I’ve been known to play deaf when there’s resistance to one of my perfectly logical suggestions). Stress comes when they are forced to deal with too many unexpected events or if they are forced to be too extraverted for too long (TESTIFY. I HATE being cheery, outgoing, smiley, etc. at work. The facade crumbles quickly, it’s almost like you can countdown to my face falling). The stress manifests itself by obsessive thoughts on external data and feelings of the world being against them. They can recover if they are given time to be alone, get their tasks rebalanced and have time to pursue their visionary solutions. It’s best if others do not try to give them advice or suggestions (mm to the freakin HMM).

Rational women tend to be late bloomers on the dating scene (true though I was surrounded by some fast ass peers). They are sometimes unaware of or don’t wish to follow cultural norms which dictate what is considered feminine (ask Crabby how blunt and crass I can be sometimes but I try to follow it up with a dainty *tee hee*). As they get older, men often appreciate their logic and general lack of emotional outbursts (this is true as has been told to me, not counting couple argumentz), along with the fact that Rational women tend to clearly state what they think and want.

So what are you? Let me know!

Comments on: "INTJ" (20)

  1. I took this test at work.
    Apparently I’m a troublemaker.
    I shake things up.
    Like The Cars…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=khkIED57Ijk
    or was it Alvin & the Chipmunks…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bT3UgO5z_rA

    anyho, I am going to need a few masterminds in my camp when the revolution will not be televised…
    Call me : )

    Love, Cas

  2. Ooooh, I wanna play!! *goes off to take the test*

    Okay, so I’m a GUARDIAN – I like it, it’s like I’m a benevolent superhero!

    I’m too cheap to pay for the other tests that tell me exactly what my four letters are. I took the Meyers-Briggs when I was in school and it said I was a healer/teacher. I can’t remember if that gave me my four letters or not. Hmmm…

    Anyway, have a great day!

    Love,
    The GUARDIAN 🙂

  3. I got Artisan. I wasn’t paying for the rest of the assesments, but Artisan was pretty close. I don’t remember what my Myers-Briggs said about me…oh wait. Now i remember, I didn’t take it lol. I was supposed to take it in a class and never got around to it. Oh well.

  4. bleh, i am a guardian, too. i mean, i guess that’s fine. it is pretty accurate. but i secretly wanted to be named a bad-assed, smarty pants mastermind. 40-45% of society=guardians. le sigh. i’m.not.REG-U-LAH!

    hmmph, i’m a guardian with mastermindy tendencies. take that keirsey, take that! LOL 🙂

    in all seriousness, good post gem!

  5. This is why you are so wonderful with your research! And I’m sure the “intuitive” aspect makes you an excellent listener, so drawing information from people is a lovely experience…for you and them!

  6. P.S. I’m an INFP.

  7. PoliBohoGlam said:

    Idealist – ENFP

    Not that I needed a quiz to tell me that I’m an idealist.
    My career choice of [working on] changing the world and my ever exasperated boyfriend already established that bit of knowledge.

    But, I’d say that the Idealist description is pretty spot-on.

  8. PoliBohoGlam said:

    by the way, if you were an “irrational mastermind”, would you then somehow be like the evil, genius villains in the comic books, always scheming to take over the world?
    because that would be kinda cool.

  9. Hmmm…after I took the test an icon of a little computer with x’d out eyes and devil horns appeared, and some smoke emanated from my CPU. What does that mean?

  10. I figure you have a million blogs you keep up with so it’s probably a pain in the ass to check back to EVERY ONE that you commented on to see if they responded to you…soooo, in response:

    Yes. That’s all I’m saying – I don’t want to jinx things.

    And, I DIED at the nose-muffs thing! I’d wear them too! I swear, when I read that I thought about a Bozo nose and for half a second I was like, ‘that might work!’

    Then I DIED again at the brochure thing! Loves it!!

    The waiting sucks so bad!!! 😦

  11. Cas: You got it 😉

    Desiree: I can sooo see the guardian/healer/teacher with you. I can’t wait to see what you do next career wise. P.S. I try to subscribe to comments but Blogger doesn’t let me unless you put a widget on there…do you mind putting a comment subscription thingie for Google Reader or something on there for me?

    McLovin: HEY! How are you? Yep, I can see artisan…I didn’t pay for anything either lol

    mdc: *cackling* We neeeed guardians though!

    Ave: I AM a really good listener which is why I’m always asking y’all questions and receiving long e-mails…I love hearing peoples’ biographies. I forgot what the ‘f’ and ‘p’ stand for in infp. I would love to read your analysis!

    PBG: I can see Idealist for you! Hey where’s your blog? And yesss the Irrational Mastermind would be awesome I’m sniggling to myself now imagining the analysis.

    Jaded: It means…that…*silently and desperately presses silent alarm*

  12. PoliBohoGlam said:

    Gem,

    Alas, here is my shame.
    I have no blog.

    Commitment-phobe that I am, I’m afraid that if I start a blog, I’ll do a sucky job of updating it, and will let down the imaginary/pretend/future/non-existent readers.

    Silly, right? Well, I can be a silly lady.

    But, since I’ve been getting a lot of that question lately, I’m thinking I should stop sucking quite so much and just do it.

    It would make me happier.

  13. Can't Take It said:

    Once again, I’m late! I really need to get an email notification for when you update this page!

    I’m a Rational(too cheap to get the full four. I did take it once, but forgot what it said because the damn woman giving the exercise took the damn test back! Wench!)

    But it said I’m a Rational in such a fashion that I like to work alone. So well add Introvert to that. *LOL* Where’s that paragraph….

    “Curious and imaginative, you are happy when you have the opportunity to explore the universe of ideas. You do not usually seek leadership positions and prefer independent work to teamwork. In your ideal job, your superiors create a structure, provide you with resources, set some general expectations, and let you loose. Inasmuch as you are not particularly goal oriented, your ideal job situation provides you a sort of private enclave where you can work autonomously. Like other “creatives” (scientists, computer engineers and even writers and designers), you work best when you can deliver your work products–rather than yourself or your process–to others.”

    But I need project that I.PERSONALLY.LIKE., so I get through it quicker. I’m flaky that way. *snicker*

  14. i’m an artisan. assessment seems pretty accurate, but i always find it interesting how these quizzes think they have you ALL figured out. there were questions that were 50/50 so i just chose an answer…so i’m not really sure if i should take everything in the article to heart, ya know?

  15. Mine is the exact same as ur. Whats ur sign Mrs. Gem?

  16. ali la loca said:

    ENFP or INFP depending on the day…

    I know several INTJs and they all are brilliant strategists and investment bankers.

  17. PBG you should TOTALLY blog. Start today, the first day of the new year! Yes!

    Can’t: Gone and add me to Google Reader or something 🙂 Hell, that paragraph describes my dream job situation too (duh, I guess because I’m a Rational). RATIONALS ROCK!

    KB: There were questions like that for me too, but instead of just choosing like I would normally do I actually put myself in the situation and kind of felt which one I would be most MYSELF with, ya know? I still need to send you your name assessment, that ish was on point from what I know about you.

    Ms. K: Word? BAWSE. I’m a Gemini, what are you?

    ali: I know what you mean, most of the time I’m pretty introverted but I would LIKE to be extroverted and can be in certain situations. Hmmm my brother just graduated college and is going into investment banking; I should have him take the assessment.

  18. Im an INTJ and until recently i thought i was just dumb on the social scene. Why do people only want to talk about other ppl ALL THE TIME! Who cares! and why do I care about the same dumb story you just talked about yesterday? sure i started a sentence with “and” but the point is, no matter what frame of mind im in (reckless atm apparently) small inconsequential crap is just that. I hope none of you feel the guilt I have when people are trying to connect with me on some level and i just cannot adapt quickly to the point. I try to act interested in BS and it seems to work as people are perceivedly more open to telling me their feelings. The truth is…it will take time to reflect on your statements, but that does not mean i am insensitive to your opinions. It simply means i dont know your motives for telling me stupid stuff and i dont know yet if i agree with where your coming from. Regards…INTJ

  19. Hi,

    I am not completely convinced that you can put people into 16 catagoies. I must admit everything I have read sounds alot like me. I do not wish to elaborate on which ones. I can say the areas that do not apply. I have been with my husband since I was 14, I am now 48 and I have never had a desire for anyone else. I have attended some college, but I found it to be some what annoying. You can not take one book for a specific subject, which was comprised by one persons opinion, and teach a class. I also had a problem with the professors whom were unable to answer my questions, and saying things such as, “it is what it is, not everything has to have a reason”
    I believe the reason they think! INTJ’s are good listeners is because, I know in my case, when people feel the need to tell me their life story in a grocery story, I have the mind set that if I do not participate it will end sooner.

    I have never posted anything before, and most likely will not again. No offense!

    I N T J
    44 62 62 11

    • I am not one of those people who take everything in the personality tests to heart. Of course it isn’t a guide to live your life by and it does not tell you all of the quirks that make you, you. But it is interesting to see the similarities and the characteristics you know about yourself be extracted from questions like these. Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

