Um….I'll think of one later.

Whew. Minicorn is finally taking a bottle. Unfortunately, she still has quite the attitude about it and every day it’s like her memory is re-set and you have to kind of break her down again to take it. It will get better though. I do believe that. Monday she broke down and straight GUZZLED the bottle. In maybe a 4-6 hour span she drank TWELVE GOTDAMN OUNCES. Which decimated the cute little stash I had in the fridge. I also had 6.5 ounces frozen, of which she has taken 1.5 this morning. So now that I’m not stressing over her taking the bottle, I now get to stress over pumping enough milk. Sigh. A good pumping session will give me 4-6 ounces. But there are also times I’ll only get like 2-3 ounces. She will generally take 4 ounces in 1 sitting, every couple or few hours. So for a full work day she will likely need 16-20 ounces. I’m hoping now that I will be pumping more consistently, my supply will regulate and respond to the demand. Because I can easily see shortages happening. I have 2 weeks before I return to work and I will be pumping my ass off (that sounds horrible). I’m trying to pump once she goes to sleep for the night but her patterns are still a bit erratic so it’s hard to tell if she will stay asleep or not. And I’m just not ready to give up my hard-earned overnight sleep to wake up at like, 2 or 3am to pump. We’ll see though.

She took her 2 month shots like a champ. She weighed 10 pounds 3 oz as of the appointment last Monday so she is growing and thriving. She is hilariously vocal; I’ve gotten so many videos (a few on her blog). She’s a wiggle-worm; Gawd help us when she starts crawling. She’s advanced; snatching burp cloths off our shoulders and waving it around like a helicopter (no Petey Pablo). Babycenter milestones indicate babies her age have not quite mastered grasping so I get to smugly smile to myself about it. She has the biggest, CLEAR, PIERCING brown eyed stare. She gets an attitude when bath time is over so we have to cater to her LUXURIOUS ASS by putting her towel and pajamas in the dryer so they’re nice and warm when she gets out, and classical music playing, and drain the bathtub while I’m in it please, do NOT lift me out of the tub or you will pay. This baby.

Whoever said you don’t get your period while breastfeeding is a MONKEY ASS LIAR. I’m saying hello to my 2nd postpartum period right now, hi bitch.

Cloth diapering is so easy I wonder if I’m missing something. Bonus, not many poop blowouts, no diaper rash, she can sleep overnight with an extra insert for dryness, it’s great. I don’t have to worry about running out and buying more. Etc.

My mom will watch her 3 days a week (she works from home some days) and Crabby’s great-aunt will watch her the other 2 days so it’s a great relief to not have to worry/stress about childcare/daycare at this time. People I know and trust. Crabby’s aunt also watches his sister’s 1-year old daughter so they get to have that cousin time.

I don’t want to take her anywhere until flu season is over/it warms up a bit. Plus she can get so fussy; I’d rather not have us out in public stressing out. But at least *I* can now leave the house and do things on my own. Speaking of which, I should probably buy some pants for work now. I have none.

Comments on: "Infant Stress Eats Your Brain" (9)

  1. so seri is milking you dry is what you’re saying. cheesus.

    these things: pumping your ass off. snatching burp cloths like petey pablo.

    this kid is going to be running circles around kids her age and a lot of folks older than her. just a hunch.

    how are your boobs? and is your leak week lighter, the same or…

    LOLed: your royal highness has to have the tub drained while she’s still in it and warm cloths and garments ready upon exit X_X_X_X this is so much at once, really

    yayyyyyy for mom & crabby’s great aunt watching the princess. turnin her old soul levels up!

  2. So happy you found loving family members to watch Her Highness during the week. Childcare centers are riddled with germs. BLECH. If you can get her to four or five before you need to send her out of the home for “school” then she’ll be fine.

    Also, I’m jealous. I need someone to warm up MY towels and robes upon leaving the shower. Will it work if I drop these items in the oven? Microwave? How does this work? I need to GET MAH LIFE so I can be on Minicorn’s level…

    ALSO, her deadpan stares, snark and stank levels in most of her photos fill me with joy! LOVE IT!

  3. family watching the baby for you is awesome! im so happy for that. Getting her on the bottle is a wonderful thing. Now you won’t have to stress when you go back to work

  4. Try the breastmilk teas – I found those work really well for upping milk supply. So sorry abut the period – I’m 9 months in and still haven’t gotten it back yet.

  5. minicorn is so fancy! I’m jealous.

  6. lol at “and drain the bathtub while I’m in it please, do NOT lift me out of the tub or you will pay.”. she is *running* y’all! so cute! :)

  7. *sigh* Your kid is extra…extra

  8. Girl, I had a few freak out moments when my Prince didn’t want to take a bottle. Most of the time he was ok as long as I was out of sight. They’re funny like that.

    I found cloth diapers to be easier too. It limited blow outs and diaper rash. And honestly I just felt better about the money we were saving and the environment.

  9. […] Infant Stress Eats Your Brain January 17th, 2013 — “Whew. Minicorn is finally taking a bottle. Unfortunately, she still has quite the attitude about it and every day it’s like her memory is re-set and you have to kind of break her down again to take it. It will get better though. I do believe that. Monday she broke down and straight GUZZLED the […]” 8 Comments […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

